Just kids

What I noticed today:

On the verge,   Diversity, masks, play, 2020,

I sat on a picnic bench to work outside today. The first go-to spot I tried had yellow tape all over the tables and benches. They used to be all spread apart, now they were all pushed together and taped up.

It’s a public park. I think it’s county owned but not positive.

The next town down I recalled a great spot to sprawl out my papers away from the crowds

And still close to the ocean.

Public park, county campground.. I am not sure, but they were all wide open.

The sounds of children’s voices, cheerfully telling stories and giggling made me look up

I noticed. A group of kids; looked to me, like a small, Pre-k organization

10 of them marching along, happily, between two adult leaders.

None of them were wearing masks.

It brought me joy to see, but I wondered if anyone else might be bothered.

I thought back a few days

a scene where the contrast, the conflict, confusion was blatantly occurring side by side… the same school yard…. playing ground. field.

One group was playing soccer on the grass.

Not one was wearing a mask.

As I drove ahead, yards away. Another group, on the blacktop, playing tag yet, Yet,they were all wearing masks.

Something peculiar, I saw. Overall, Just happy. (as were they all).

playing giggling. happy. they were.

just kids

being kids.

No matter. However.

I just noticed

what do you think?